Why I’m Looking Forward to Minzy’s Debut

Back in April, when it was announced that Minzy was leaving 2NE1, she has been on my radar for the past couple of months now. I’ve been listening to 2NE1 as a group for a year now, and I always considered Minzy to be really talented. The girl can sing AND dance very well.

When she decided not to renew her contract with YG Entertainment, I was sad because she wasn’t going to be a part of one of my favorite Kpop girl groups. But then again, I wasn’t surprised at the fact that she left. I’m kind of grateful that she did leave because she really wasn’t doing much when it came to solo projects (which I still blame YG’s shitty management skills for).

So about a month after leaving YG, she decided to Music Works Entertainment, which is a in-house label under CJ E&M. Now, I have never heard of this label before, so I did my research. Some people were saying online that she made a right decision because this label has some good artists.

I’m glad that she chose a record label that wasn’t too well-known because I feel like it can give her a chance to start a clean slate. She’s been looking really happy these past couple of months. She had her first fan meeting last month, and she looked fabulous.

Speaking of looking fabulous, she’s been looking on point lately. She looks so much better than she did before.

I wonder what her music is going to sound like. I never really gave it much thought. She has strong vocals, so I guess she can go for the pop/r&b sound. I don’t know, we’ll see what happens.

I did read somewhere that she’s going to debut right after Music Works debuts their boy group, MYTEEN, so I can patiently wait.

It’s better that she takes her time with this record because I’ve noticed that being in a solo artist in the Kpop industry is a bit harder because all eyes are on you, and only you. But I have no doubt that Minzy is going to do well. At least it won’t be wasted talent when she debuts again.

I also don’t want to get my hopes up when she drops new music. I want to be surprised.

There is one thing I would like to mention. People really need to stop calling her a snake and leaving snake emojis on her Instagram page because it’s stupid. It’s stupid. People want to say stupid stuff and I’m just sitting here like…y’all have nothing better to do? It’s so petty. This is why I stay away from the Kpop fandoms because they can get out of hand sometimes. Relax.

But all in all, when the time comes, I hope that Minzy will be satisfied with the music she plans to put out. I want her to take her time, and try to find herself and discover who she is as a person. I know that sounds sappy, but I really hate it when great talent goes to waste for so long. I wish you all the best of luck Minzy. I’ll be rooting for you.

By the way, this is a behind the scenes video for her photoshoot for Music Works. She looks stunning. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

