SHINee – 1of1: Givin Me 90s Realness

*Cue drum machine.*

So SHINee’s back with their 5th album, 1 of 1. Now, I’m not really an avid SHINee listener, but this comeback has me very nostalgic. First of all, the whole concept is very 90s, and it’s done properly. I love me some 90s nostalgia and I love me some new jack swing. When the promo pics came out, I was so excited. Yeah, the 90s were cheesy as hell, but do you think I care? I feel like SHINee is one of those Kpop boy bands that can pull this concept off, without making it look too ridiculous.

I don’t know what’s been going on at SM Entertainment, but I’ve been impressed with what they’ve been doing visually for their groups this past year. From Taemin’s solo album to Luna’s debut mini album (which is still slept on. *sips tea*), I’ve been so impressed with what I’m seeing and hearing.

Anyway, back to SHINee. As soon as I saw the pics, I had a feeling this was going to be good. Now, I haven’t gotten the chance to listen to the album yet, but when I do, I might do an album review. But until then, I’m just going to judge the title track.

One, I’m in LOVE with the video. I don’t know how many times I can say that. I’m in love with this video. Everything is so crisp and I love the dancing.

Now, when I heard the song for the first time, I wasn’t too sold on it. I thought it was a nice song. But after listening to it a couple of times, it’s been stuck in my head. I think it’s because I love new jack swing a lot, I don’t know.

But, I also think that today’s performance on M Countdown made me like the song even more. Normally, if I don’t like a song on the first couple of listens, I wait until the live performance to see how it’s done live. The live performance really did it for me. I really loved their stage design too. See? This is why I love Kpop. They put a lot of effort into their performances. They wore the same colored suits like they did in the video. I just….I can’t. I love the suits, especially Taemin’s  yellow suit.

Anyway, if I had to give this song a rating, it would be a 4/5. I’ll give their album a listen to see how the rest of the songs sound, when I have the time. Again, they really pulled off this 90s aesthetic pretty well. They really took a big chance here when it came to the music too. Everyone is so used to seeing hip-hop concepts or sexy concepts. I’m glad that they took this approach though, even if I’m not an avid listener.

I hope you guys enjoyed this post. Until then, annyeong.

Leave a Reply

