I.O.I – Very Very Very MV [JAKKU JAKKU JAKKU]

Jakku Jakku Jakku (I still find that part catchy af).

Hello everyone. Welcome back to another MV review here at Hana, Dul, Set. Okay, my girls I.O.I recently released their last and final (excuse me while I crawl into a corner and cry) comeback as a group on Monday titled, Very Very Very.

I.O.I is back with all eleven members with a cute title track written and produced by JYP. When I heard that JYP was going to be working on their comeback song, I was 50/50 about it. Personally, JYP songs are a hit or miss for me, but I was still open about it.

At first, I wasn’t too sold on the song. It really didn’t do anything for me. But I told myself that this is their last comeback as a group, and I’ve supported these girls from the beginning. Let me give it a couple of more listens.

After two to three listens, it grew on me, and it’s been on repeat ever since. I think the video also helped because it was bright and quirky. Some people online were comparing the video to Red Velvet’s Russian Roulette, going as far to say that I.O.I copied their concept. Sigh. Again, this is why I don’t belong to these fandoms. They do the absolute most. I’m not even going to spend my time talking about it.

Anyway, there were several things I picked up. Can we talk about how versatile Yoojung is? I have loved this cute little nugget since the beginning. She oozes confidence, and I feel like she can pull off any concept that is thrown at her. I was really surprised how good her singing voice was. Slay a bit Yoojung.

Yoojung is so adorable.

Another person that really surprised me was Mina. Mina is another cute nugget. Her rap verse (along with my girl Na Young) was just dope. I was not expecting that from her at all. I didn’t even know she had that in her. In the near future, I want to see her rap more in her group Gugudan.

I.O.I images ♥ I.O.I - Very Very Very [MV] ♥ wallpaper and background photos
I really liked this look on Mina.
She looks so gorgeous here.

Another person that also surprised me was Sohye. If you guys watched Produce 101, y’all would know that Sohye was the most awkward contestant ever. She was originally training to be an actress at her agency, but she also wanted to try her hand at singing. Throughout the show, she made great progress. Even after debuting, she’s has gotten better. Sure, she gets the least lines, but I’m just really proud of her. Snaps for Sohye.

Go little penguin!

The only downside I have to the song is the ending. It fades out at the end, instead of just ending the song on one note. JYP could have had them laughing or giggling at the end. It’s just a weird transition for me. It’s a production issue for me (I know too much about my major). It even looks a little strange in the video because they’re just doing a cute little shimmy at the end that makes me laugh all the time. If you guys don’t know what I’m talking about, just pay attention at the end.

Shimmy away! They have to do this awkward dance on music programs. Good grief.

There’s something about this song that’s very addictive. It’s almost scary. I’m so proud of these girls and what they’ve accomplished. I’m really upset that they’re going to be disbanding by January. I wish they were a permanent group, but they have other agencies they need to return to. When they disband, I hope that the girls who are already in groups like Mina, Sejeong, Chaeyeon, Yeonjung have all the success in this crazy Kpop industry.

Overall, I really like this song a lot. It’s fun, catchy, cute, and it’s a good sendoff for fans. I’m also proud to say that they achieved their first certified all-kill on the charts. I’m so happy for them. I just hope they can win at least one music show. But it’s going to be hard when you have BTS breaking records all over the place, and TWICE is coming back in less than six days. Get ready.

Good luck girls. Neomu Neomu Neomu! 

I.O.I images ♥ I.O.I - Very Very Very [MV] ♥ wallpaper and background photos

Leave a Reply

