BLACKPINK – SQUARE TWO REVIEW

Blackpink returned to the Kpop scene on November 1st with two singles, Playing with Fire and Stay. I’ve stated in past posts that I’m starting to warm up to them after their debut. We were supposed to get a comeback from them last month, but it was pushed (go figure) to this month. I mean, I wasn’t surprised that we had to wait a little longer for their comeback, but I was patient.

Anyway, back to the songs. I was curious what type of sound they will go with, since their debut was so strong. Based on the teasers, I found myself getting excited.

Let’s start with Playing with Fire. It’s a low-key bop, but I wasn’t too excited to be quite honest. It’s an okay song, but I’m not jumping out of my chair. It sounded like something I would hear on a Top 40 radio station here in America. I’m not saying that’s a bad thing, but it’s too simple. I can put this on replay maybe once or twice.

The video itself is stunning. I still say that they have great visuals as a group. Jennie kept catching my eye in this video because she looked really stunning.

*heart eyes*
She’s sooo pretty!

Moving on to Stay. This song is kind of forgettable for me. I’m not a big fan of slower songs, but it really didn’t do much for me. It’s a simple song, and all the girls sounds great on it. I hate to say this, but it sounded like something 2ne1 might do. I don’t see myself putting that song on repeat. I think it’s one of those songs you listen to when you’re in a mellow or sad mood. Overall, not my cup of tea.

After listening to these two songs, I’ve grown to love Rose’s voice. She really has a nice voice. She has a pleasant voice, and I can listen to her all day. If she ever does any solo stuff in the future (*fingers crossed*), I would buy her stuff.

I don’t know. This comeback seemed very lukewarm for me. I was so underwhelmed. They didn’t feel like comeback songs. They felt like B-sides. I also don’t know how to feel about this whole two-single comeback thing YG is doing. I know there was news that they were going to doing eight music videos. I mean, we’ve gotten four so far. Is YG going to keep doing a two-single comeback, and then put all of the songs on a mini album? That’s how it’s looking for me, I don’t know. No one knows what goes on in that muppet’s head sometimes. He’s such a pain.

I really want this group to do well. I’ve said that several times. If they’re going to continue to work with only Teddy, then I don’t know what to say. I want them to work with other YG producers too, not just Teddy. But let’s see where these two singles take them.

Check out both videos, and let me know what you think about Blackpink’s comeback in the comment section down below.

Leave a Reply

