B1A4: GOOD TIMING REVIEW

My dorks are back. B1A4 is back with their 3rd studio album. Good Timing. Now it’s been a year since their last comeback, Sweet Girl. I really enjoyed their last mini album, and I was excited about this comeback because they always make good music. Bless Jinyoung and his production skills y’all.

If you guys aren’t familiar with B1A4, I suggest you put them on your radar right now. They debuted in 2011 under WM Entertainment. They’re not the typical Kpop boy group that does hip hop or has sharp choreography. B1A4 is the type of group that makes sweet and fun music, which is refreshing, especially in the Kpop world.

Anyway, back to the new album. I think this comeback couldn’t come at a perfect time. Since I’m still in mourning from 2NE1’s disbandment, B1A4’s music is soothing my soul.

They released their comeback on November 28th, with the title track, A Lie. At first listen, I wasn’t feeling it because it felt a little disjointed. It’s a very mid-tempo song, but I gave it a couple of more listens, and now I can’t stop singing it out loud.

Now let’s move onto the MV. I really love the music video. The visuals are so pretty and mellow. All of the members look amazing, especially CNU. Can we talk about how good that boy looks? Especially with that red hair?

b1a4-collage
They look so gorgeous. *heart eyes*

As for the rest of the album, it did take a while to get used to. At first listen, I really didn’t like it as much. But after a couple of listens, I really enjoyed the album. It’s cohesive and clean. Most of my favorite tracks from the album are A Lie, Nightmare, Good Timing, In Dreams, Drunk on You, Together, and Sparkling. I really love the song Good Timing because it as an 80s feel to it. At first, I didn’t like the song because of the awkward chorus, but I’ve gotten used to it, and its cheesiness. I think what makes up for it is the live performance. They look like they’re having so much fun. These cute dorks.

Meanwhile, Nightmare is such a slow and groovy song. I really love the production of it, which I was surprised that CNU composed that track. Good lord, his vocals on that track are gorgeous.

I have a sweet spot for them in my heart because I love all five of them. They’re so slept on as a group, and I’m glad that they’re doing well as a group. Jinyoung, the leader is an amazing producer. I have to say that he’s one of the best composers in Kpop right now.

Overall, I’m really digging this comeback. The music is amazing, the visuals are on point. The live performances of A Lie are stunning, and the fan chants are perfection. I’m going to give this comeback a 4 out of 5. I wish them the best of luck with this comeback.

Here’s their recent comeback performance this past Sunday on Inkigayo.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

