SAY HELLO TO PRISTIN WITH ‘WEE WOO’

On March 21st, Pristin finally made their debut with a funky and fun track titled ‘Wee Woo.’ Pristin is a 10-member girl group from Pledis Entertainment, which also houses boy group Seventeen.

At first listen, the song doesn’t stick right away. It took me several listens to finally get used to it. Now, I was so excited for this group’s debut for several reasons. One, two of my favorite members from I.O.I and the first season of Produce 101, Nayoung and Kyulkyung are in this group. Two, each member was a part of the songwriting process, which is a big plus in my book.

The first mini album as a whole is pretty good. ‘Wee Woo,’ the title track is really fun and I really love the chorus. The chorus makes the song really unique and cute at the same time. Even from the teasers, I had a feeling I was going to like this song. People are 50/50 with the title track, which is understandable. But it’s one of those tracks you have to listen to more than once to fully like it.

The music video is really gorgeous and fun at the same time. I know I keep saying it’s a fun track, but that’s what it is. The look of the video reminded me of Twice’s debut track ‘Like Ooh-Ahh.’

As for the songs from their mini album ‘Hi! Pristin’, they’re pretty good tracks. The one song that I’m still getting used to is ‘Black Widow.’ It’s not a bad song and it has some potential, it still feels a little weird to me.

I have a feeling that Pristin is going to be one of the rookie groups to look out for this year in Kpop. They have potential and I want to see them grow as a group.

So what are your thoughts on Pristin’s debut? Do you like it? Hate it? Indifferent? Leave your thoughts in the comment section below.

*P.S- They performed on M Countdown today, which makes it their first music show performance. You can watch their debut performance here.

Leave a Reply

